Return to Headlines

Four CHS seniors named STAR Students for the 2020 school year

CLINTON — Four seniors at Clinton High School have been named STAR Students for the 2019-2020 school year by the Mississippi Economic Council (MEC) M.B. Swayze Foundation, sponsor of the Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) program.

Those Clinton seniors are Aaron Graves, Isaac Martinolich, Victor Yen and Kevin Zhang.

They will be acknowledged among the over 330 STAR Students in Mississippi for their academic achievements. STAR Students are selected on the basis of academic excellence. Both American College Test scores and scholastic averages are compared to determine the school’s STAR Student. The STAR program encourages and promotes academic achievement among Mississippi’s high school seniors.

Each STAR Student is asked to designate a STAR Teacher, the teacher who has made the greatest contribution to the student’s scholastic achievement.

Nancy Dent was designated as STAR Teacher by Aaron Graves.

Sarah Hankins was designated as STAR Teacher by Isaac Martinolich.

Megan Berry was designated as STAR Teacher by Victor Yen.

Angel Olinger was designated as STAR Teacher by Kevin Zhang.

This year, over 660 STAR Students and STAR Teachers will receive this prestigious recognition from MEC’s M.B. Swayze Foundation.

  2020 STAR Students

Pictured (l-r) Aaron Graves, Victor Yen, Kevin Zhang and Isaac Martinolich.