Return to Headlines

CPSD wins Beacon Award for academic programs


CPSD administrators (group)


On Feb. 20, the Clinton Public School District received the Beacon Award — the highest award given by the Mississippi School Boards Association — for the strength of its academic programs. Clinton is the highest achieving school district in the Jackson metro area, and the fifth-highest achieving school district statewide. It is one of only 18 A-Rated school districts in Mississippi.
Receiving the award are (back row, from left) Clinton Alternative School Principal Kelly Heath; Clinton School Board members Kenny Lewis and Dr. Felicia Gavin; CPSD Superintendent Dr. Tim Martin; School Board President Dr. Matt Thomas; School Board member Paula DeYoung; Clinton High School Principal Brett Robinson; (front row, from left) CJHS Principal John Wallace; Northside Elementary School Principal Mandy Ambrose; Lovett Elementary School Principal Dr. Mike Pope; Sumner Hill Junior High Principal Christie Claxton; and Clinton Park Elementary Principal Kelli Pope.